

EACC Annual General Meeting 24 November 2022 AGM Papers

AGM Minutes (revised 17 Oct 2023*) submitted for approval:

1. Presentation by Bridie Ashrowan:

Chief Executive, Edinburgh Voluntary Organisations' Council (EVOC) (see EACC Site: Meetings > EACC Documents > Meetings 2022)

2. Annual General Meeting Proceedings:

Attendance: c 23; including Steve Kerr (Chair), Judy Wightman (Treasurer), Ken Robertson (Acting-Secretary); with apologies from Keith Giblett (Vice-Chair). The meeting was deemed quorate. (17 Community Councils represented; see Appendix.)

The City of Edinburgh Council Governance Division hosted this screen meeting on its *Teams* facility. The Acting-Secretary thanked Sarah Stirling (Organiser) and Chris Highcock (Returning Officer) for making themselves available.

The Minutes of AGM November 2021, the EGM Report of February 2022 and the revised Standing Orders (November 2022) were approved.

2.1 Report from the Chair (Steve Kerr):

EACC's role is to give individual Community Councils a collective advocacy voice in the shaping of City Council policy for our city and our communities. An example is the recent appointment of EACC to membership of the Strategic Board of the Edinburgh Integrated Joint Board. But EACC's ambition and effectiveness are only as strong as the commitment and contribution of individual Community Councils.

Issues arising in discussion:

Steve Kerr is due to meet ScotGov officials / Communities Minister on pending Community Council reform and boundaries review (in place before the next CC elections in 2024). Steve Kerr to follow-up the issue of EACC funding with Cllr. Cameron (Deputy Lord Provost) and with the Edinburgh Partnership.

Call for local communities to be given a stronger say in 'place planning' within Local Development Plans and 20 Minute Neighbourhood schemes.

Invitations / Topics for EACC meetings? Daisy Narayanan, CEC Head of Placemaking and Mobility; Andrew Field, CEC Director of Community Engagement and Empowerment. Local Heat Networks



2.2 Treasurer's Report (Judy Wightman):

The accounts are compiled to a March year-end, in line with Community Council practice. A funding request made of Edinburgh Partnership has still to be met.

A funding appeal to Community Councils met with much appreciated donations of £880 from 19 groups (£550 before 31 March, £310 afterwards).

The surplus for the year to end-March 2022 was £426, with the bank balance at £610.

Thanks were expressed to the Independent Examiner, Mrs Christine Cameron.

Current expenses are modest and relate mostly to basic website maintenance.

Two new signatories will be added to the bank account.

Mrs Cameron was later reappointed as Independent Examiner of the Accounts.

2.3 Acting-Secretary's Report (Ken Robertson):

Thanks were expressed to Simon Holledge, Secretary up to end-June, and to David Bewsey (Redford Website Hosting) for site maintenance in recent months.

The Steering Group's focus in the early part of the year was the revision of the Constitution, The EACC meeting programme has been light. The Observatory for Sport in Scotland presented at end-May. Andrew Field from CEC spoke on the emerging Community Engagement and Empowerment programme at end-September. Bridie Ashrowan from EVOC presented this evening. Our thanks are expressed to all participants.

Suggestions (topics, individuals) are invited for presentations over 2023. Contact the Secretary.

2.4 Election of New Office Bearers:

Overseen by Chris Highcock, CEC Elections and Members' Services Manager: Nominations uncontested.

Steve Kerr (Corstorphine CC) re-elected to the post of Chair.

Keith Giblett (Queensferry & District CC) re-elected to the post of Vice-Chair.

Judy Wightman (Ratho & District CC) re-elected to the post of Treasurer.

Ken Robertson (Grange Prestonfield CC) elected to the post of Secretary.

Steve Kerr resumed the post of Chair.

2.5 Election of Nominees to Members' Board:

Nominations uncontested.

Roger Colkett (Tollcross CC), Ian Doig (Merchiston CC), Robert Hodgart (Southside CC) and Bill Rodger (Trinity CC) elected.

Graeme McKinlay's nomination (Queensferry & District CC) fell because of the prior election of Keith Giblett to Vice-Chair. (Only one position on the Members' Board per Community Council. The Members' Board has the right to co-opt appointees, overriding this bar.)



2.6 Other Business:

The Members' Board has a complement of eight (including four Office Bearers). That is too few a number to allow EACC to pursue a full agenda of engagement with CEC and other agencies. Community Councillors are invited to step forward to join the Members' Board, to help it work in the following areas:

Planning and Place ** Licensing (Alcohol and other) ** Transport and Mobility ** Health and Social Care ** Waste Management and Recycling ** Small Business Support All of the above sit in the context of City Plan 2030 and the 2030 Climate Strategy.

This a big list and it impacts on the future of every community and locality. The best way for Community Councils to approach these issues is to approach them together

Roger Colkett (Tollcross CC and Members' Board) highlighted the scheduled closing on 22 December of the <u>Edinburgh Licensing Board Consultation</u>, ahead of a planned new Policy Statement in mid-2023. He urged Community Councils to participate in the Consultation. From Tollcross CC, he has had a close involvement in Licensing over the past 10 years. He can be contacted at <u>roger@colkett.uk</u>.

Steve Kerr closed the meeting. (Next AGM provisionally set for 23 November 2023.)

Appendix

Present at the meeting:

resent at the meeting.	
Steve Kerr – Corstorphine	Bill Rodger – Trinity
Judy Wightman – Ratho & District	Tim Parker - Trinity
Ken Robertson – Grange Prestonfield	John Yellowlees – Murrayfield
Nick Marshall – Northfield & Willowbrae	Liz Summerfield – Tollcross
Mike Wilson – Old Town	Roger Colkett - Tollcross
Norman Tinlin – Fairmilehead	Robert Hodgart – Southside
Ian Doig – Merchiston	Ronnie Shaw – Liberton
Alistair Macleod - Colinton	Paul Hancock – West End
Andy Mackenzie – Leith Links	
Sally Millar – Leith Links	
Bill Krol – Liberton	

Also present: Chris Highcock and Sarah Stirling from CEC. Apologies: Keith Giblett, Queensferry & District

*Record prepared by Ken Robertson (Secretary)

Version 1 distributed 28 Nov 2022;

Version 2, edited for presentation, prepared 17 Oct 2023.